The Equestrian Bank Account – Budgeting

1500125672635

Becoming savy with what Im spending is definitely something that I feel like I am beginning to nail this year. It started off with my car insurance rather than renew it I did a little shopping around and was eventually able to cut my monthly payments by half! This has slowly been transferring to other parts of my life. Like meal prepping for my lunches for work rather than buy a quick sandwich and selling bridle parts that I am not using or that show jacket that I bought but doesn’t fit right and forgot to return.

Of course equestrianism can be a hard sport to be “savy” with money on. As you don’t want to buy cheap and end up replacing what ever it is in a few months because the cheap version was broken. It is an expensive sport there is absolutely no denying it but if there are a few ways to save a few pennies that will help pay for that next competition entry or that new trailer why not go for it!

Heres were I have managed to save money

  • Prescriptions  – I don’t buy directly from the vets, I get my prescription from them and buy online this can cut the price in half in some cases.
  • Buy rugs out of season – Buy that heavy weight in the middle of summer and that fly rug in winter. Chances are they will be on sale or discounted.
  • Shop around – Visit a few websites or shops before you buy. Even try something on in a shop so that you know it will fit then go online to buy.
  • Don’t Impulse buy  – This will be very difficult for me at Blair Atholl horse trials as I know there will be something that “would look so good on her” giphy (5).gif
  • Sell – I recently sold a few things on Ebay and I plan on going to a table top sale soon to sell a few more things. Like that rug that I really don’t use anymore but I don’t want to pay to post it.
  • Consider your livery options –  Do you need to have your horse on full livery ? When I first bought my mare we rented a field no school or anything just a field, then we moved to a yard with a nice outdoor school and a jumping field during the summer but she was still on grass livery so she had no stable, now we have a stable and an indoor and outdoor school where the place holds competitions but I am still only on assisted DIY – they will give her breakfast and turn her out and bring her in but I need to be there to muck her out and give her dinner. I am slowly working my way towards full livery but right now its not something that I need.
  • Shoeing  – Something that I am muddling my way through right now myself. I have always had her fully shod. But why ?  She was fully shod when I bought her and that is pretty much the only reason I have kept her like that therefore I have been paying to buy the sedation and to have a full set of shoes.

giphy (7).gifHind sight vision is 2020! So now I am considering having just two fronts on with the potential to have her completely bare foot in the future.

  • Feeding –  Consider what brands you are feeding and why. Do you need to be adding all the extra supplements to your feed ? Or could you buy a balancer that will have that already in it? For example are you feeding for joints ? Have you ever considered feeding your horse a senior balancer – at the end of the day who says they need to be a certain age to eat it and it has added extras for joint support. This was advise given to me by a nutritionist at the Horse of the Year show last year.
  • You don’t always have to turn up in full riding gear – I like wearing sports tops from stores such as sports direct to ride in and I will quite often turn up in trackies if Im only planning on lunging. At the end of the day you only ever have to look on point when you are at a show. No body is looking at you when you are mucking out and if they are then they need to find a different hobby that doesn’t involve shoveling poop as a daily task.
  • Clearance  – I always go to the clearance section on websites its probably one of the first parts of the site I go to. Premier Equine have a returned goods section which will tell you why someone has returned something but you can buy for half the price. It also features end of line stock that is good to have a look through.

 

At the end of the day always ask yourself two questions

  • Why am I buying this ?
  • Am  I buying it for the best price ?

 

What about you guys, do you have any money saving tips  ? 

3 thoughts on “The Equestrian Bank Account – Budgeting

  1. Great post! Having horses cheaply without compromising on their care is totally possible. I get the price down on ginge’s care by helping the YO with turning and mucking out the full liveries where I can. Means we get to be on a beautiful yard with all the facilities and a lower price tag. Hard work but it’s worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is definitely a good way to keeps costs reasonable if have the time to do it. I have been offered free livery over summer before in return to work on the yard while I back home from university. People just need to research the options and put the time in to find the best option for themselves.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Horses are expensive but like you said there are ways to spend money smartly. Good luck with your hoof care plans. I’ve had my mare barefoot and shod and have certain reasons I do either. She is currently barefoot and doing well

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

