Dressage, Showjumping or Eventing? 🤔

 

Recently I having been wondering about whether I should sign up to BD (British Dressage) or BSJ ( British Showjumping) or compete as an unaffiliated rider until I can get transport to get out to different locations. Which ever option I go for I need to do a bit of research to find out which will work for me. What I really want to sign up to is BE (British Eventing) but I have no regular transport to get to these events… just yet!

For now there are quite a few BD and BSJ events at the yard I’m at, so this is my focus. Since I don’t particularly plan on going out much until I get a few other “life things” sorted I will probably – at least for now – compete as an unaffiliated rider. So I plan on writing posts on how to compete as an unaffiliated rider for both BSJ and BD.

If you have questions about the memberships please comment and Ill try and find out and include them in the post. 

 

One thought on “Dressage, Showjumping or Eventing? 🤔

  1. I don’t know much about BD memberships. It can vary from country to country. In Canada to compete , even in schooling shows, you must have an Equestrian Canada membership and a provincial membership and a dressage membership and a horse sport license. $$$$ If you only compete at the schooling level the EC membership is less expensive than if you compete at CDIs or CSIs. In the US it is much simpler you get a USEF member ship and for dressage a USDF membership. This covers competitions at all levels and they send you a bi monthly magazine and you can sign up for numerous year end awards ( such at the Masters Challenge award for riders over 60 like me!). It costs less than the Canadian memberships and offers more. Many riders in Canada are fed up with EC. Anyway I think it is a good choice to go unaffiliated if that is an option that works for you at this point in time. I look forward to reading about how it goes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

